Benin Advanced Country Profile

National Flag of Sri Lanka

Benin Country Flag
Benin Country Flag

Benin, officially the Republic of Benin and formerly known as Dahomey, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east, Burkina Faso to the north-west, and Niger to the north-east. The majority of its population lives on the small southern coastline of the Bight of Benin, part of the Gulf of Guinea in the northernmost tropical portion of the Atlantic Ocean. The capital of Benin is Porto-Novo, but the seat of government is in Cotonou, the country's largest city and economic capital. Benin covers an area of 114,763 square kilometres and its population in 2018 was estimated to be approximately 11.49 million. Benin is a tropical nation, highly dependent on agriculture, and is a large exporter of cotton and palm oil. Substantial employment and income arise from subsistence farming.

County Benin
Benin Official Name Republic of Benin
Benin Time time_zones The time is 03:30:58am
Benin ISO 2 Code BJ
Benin ISO 3 Code BEN
Benin Continents ID Benin
Benin Phone Code - Dialing code: +229
Benin Native Name Bénin
Benin Capital City Porto-Novo
Benin Currency XOF
Benin Languages fr
Benin Population 11.49 million
Benin Latitude 9.37180859
Benin Longitude 2.29386134
Benin GEO Zone
Benin Time Zone

where is sri lanka on the map